What are ballot initiative rights?
Ballot initiative rights give registered voters the right to petition for issues to be placed on the ballot for a statewide vote.  It is a form of direct democracy that allows citizens to propose statues or laws, amendments, and referendums or recalls of recently passed bills. Learn more here.

Who needs to act?
Any member of the Indiana General Assembly (House and Senate) can file a joint resolution to amend the Indiana State Constitution to allow for ballot initiative rights.

What states have ballot initiative rights?
Currently, 26 states have some form of ballot initiative rights  Those states are:Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Floria, Idaho, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

Don’t see your question here?  Try us at Formspring.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s